The Emptiness

Standard

hand-palm-5-empty

He asked me for a simple drink, but I was busy.  I was in the middle of preparing a big celebratory dinner, and my stress level was high.  I said the right words, but my demeanor, which he reads so very well, spoke my irritation.  He walked away, but not before I noticed the dejected look in his eyes. 

These days, my days are full.  Caring for, teaching, training, and shepherding young hearts consume my time.  Laundry and cooking and household chores are a constant source of frustration for this tired Mommy.  Daily requirements press in, and I realize I am failing in so many ways.  In spite of these incredibly full days, I often end my days feeling … EMPTY. 

What I see as my failures, HE sees as His invitation.  Emptiness is His arena.  The empty tomb, His greatest victory.  Emptiness was His chosen entry to triumph.  My failures become His opportunity to redeem.  He fills empty hearts.  He fills me.

The days I come to the end of myself are the days that He is able to begin.  He receives my emptiness and replaces it with HIM. 

Lord, you replace the rhythms of my heart to match the cadence of Yours.  You conquer my failures.  My emptiness becomes Your dominion. 

About bindmywanderingheart

I am a child of God, wife of Justin for 12 years, and mom of 4 incredible kiddos. Our daughter, Lydia has congenital glaucoma and fibrovascular downgrowth. Join us on our journey as we fight the darkness of Lydia's eyes, and of this world.

One response »

Leave a Reply

